Caño Island has some of the most exciting diving in Costa Rica. Caño Island lies approximately 13 miles off the coast of Drake Bay. The island is far enough away from the coast that the seasonal rains do not affect the visibility like in other scuba dive locations in Costa Rica. The lack of development on the island also contribute to the excellent visibility found at Caño Island. The Island is a protected marine park as well. Diving on this southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica can be simply described as spectacular. Perhaps the most memorable encounters occur with the pelagics that inhabit the area. Schools of mobula rays, turtles and white tip reef sharks can be seen on many dives.

Jinetes de Osa www.jinetesdeosa.com

La Paloma Lodge www.lapalomalodge.com

Tranquilo Lodge www.thetranquilolodge.com

Pirate Cove www.piratecovecostarica.com

Finca Maresia www.fincamaresia.com

Casa Horizontes www.casahorizontescorcovado.com

Casita Corcovado www.casitacorcovado.com

Martina's Place Hostel  www.martinasplace.com

Ranchitos Las Cotingas www.lascotingas.com

Cabinas Manolo www.cabinasmanolo.com

Cabinas El Mirador www.miradordrakebay.com

Guaria de Osa Ecolodge www.guariadeosa.com

Pacheco Cabins www.pachecocabins.com

Casa Drake Lodge www.casadrake.com

Amaya Family Cabins www.amayafamilycabins.com

Costa Rica Adventure Divers www.costaricadiving.com

Drake Divers Costa Rica

www.drakediverscr.com

Cano Divers

www.canodiverscostarica.com

Drake Bay has only two seasons: the rainy season and the dry season. December through April is the dry season with guaranteed sunshine and virtually no rain. May through November is rainy (usually sunny in the morning and rainy in the late afternoon). There are advantages of going in the rainy season as it is cooler, everything is greener, there are less people and it is cheaper.

The most popular and fastest way to get to Drake Bay is by taking a plane from San Jose International Airpor (Airport Code SJO) directly to Drake Bay Airport (Airport Code DRK) with either Nature Air www.natureair.com or Sansa Air www.flysansa.com.

© 2012-2019 Created by The DiveSpot Team. All rights reserved